Situated in the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Medici Fountain was initially built in 1630 and moved to Jardin du Luxembourg between 1864-1866. The Medici Fountain was built by Marie de Medicis, widow of Henry IV and after her death was owned by various other people. During this time the Medici Fountain went through many changes. After years of neglect the Medici Fountain was restored at the instructions of Napoleon Bonaparte by architect Jean Chalgrin, the architect of the Arc de Triomphe.
During the Second French Empire the Medici Fountain was moved thirty meters to make room for a road which changed its appearance significantly by architect, Alphonse de Gisors to what the fountain appears to be today.